Member Institutions

The Association of 1890 Extension Administrators, Inc. (AEA) is the official representative body of Cooperative Extension administrators of the nineteen (19), historically black land-grant universities that constitute the 1890 land-grant system. These universities are located in 18 states, mostly in the Southern region and boarder states. The member universities are:

Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical University (AL)

Alcorn State University (MS)

Central State University (OH)

Delaware State University (DE)

Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University (FL)

Fort Valley State University (GA)

Kentucky State University (KY)

Langston University (OK)

Lincoln University (MO)

North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University (NC)

Prairie View A&M University (TX)

South Carolina State University (SC)

Southern University (LA)

Tennessee State University (TN)

Tuskegee University (AL)

University of Arkansas Pine Bluff (AR)

University of Maryland Eastern Shore (MD)

Virginia State University (VA)

West Virginia State University (WV)

AEA is considered one of the five regions of the national land-grant university system’s Cooperative Extension System, a nationwide transformational education system that operates through land-grant universities in partnership with federal, state, and local governments.  AEA represents the interests of Extension administrators at 1890 institutions in their collective dealings with the national CES/Extension Committee on Organization and Policy (ECOP), Board on Agriculture Assembly (BAA), APLU, USDA-National Institute for Food and Agriculture (NIFA) and other federal agencies and organizations.